People

I’m a big fan of Barbara Streisand, huge. However, I think she got it all wrong with her song “People”, when it says People who need people are the luckiest people in the world. I’d actually change it to People who can draw people are the luckiest people in the world. I mean, it’s HARD!

A few weeks ago I met up with my brother Domingo in New York for 24 hours (which ended up being 48, although that’s another story on its own). We had a fantastic time together, walking from Broadway to the Battery and taking in everything the city has to offer – including dinner at The Modern. Mmmmm… When I came back to Toronto I was full of NY inspiration, which slowly dissipated unfortunately… until TODAY.

I did not draw buildings, I drew people. The first dozen sketches were so hopeless I almost gave up; 9-year-old Araceli would’ve done a far better job. But suddenly they started turning out a bit better and after drawing another dozen New Yorkers from the 60s I’m actually quite proud of the following 4 who made it to this post.

7 thoughts on “People

  1. The smoking ladies are great! They´re sisters, the second one is the eldest and owner of one of the trendiest art gallery in NY. The second one works for Vogue. The others are just wives.
    Any chance you show us your Amy Butler quilt someday?
    Maria

  2. I love them sis!!!
    And Maria’s appreciation of the ladies seems pretty much spot on!!!
    I’d add that the “wives” are “high maintenance wives” though 🙂

  3. Oh, love them! They are so divine! Drawing people is tough, you don’t remember but when we lived in Perth I used to practice drawing people by drawing Rocio, I still have a couple of those drawings somewhere… must look for them! Besos

  4. Aww thank so much for the lovely messages! Feel like drawing MORE people today. @Maria 1, I will soon do a post with my Amy Butler quilt 🙂 @Rocio, yes they are most certainly high maintenance wives! @Reyes dig out those pictures and show them to the world (!) – I can’t remember you drawing Rocio though…@Maria 2, yes darling it IS G&T in her hand, mainly because she looks a bit like you and I know for a fact you wouldn’t have anything else in your glass 😉

Leave a Reply

