Harlem & Columbia

On our last day in NY, we visited Columbia University and Harlem. I took the highest number of photographs that day, so I guess that shows quite accurately how much I loved both areas.

Columbia University campus (pictured above and below) is simply stunning. If the architecture alone weren’t enough, the notable list of its alumni is impressive enough to leave anyone bewildered. Jack Kerouac, whose On the Road I’m currently reading, is part of the list.

From there we walked to Harlem. The closer we got there, the cleaner and wider the streets and the friendlier the people. I saw many a brownstone:

But this is my favourite:

Probably because it reminds me of West Side Story and I was somehow expecting Bernardo and his gang to appear (and dance).

Naturally, as with things I really REALLY like, I had to do a watercolour of it:

NOTE: All photos by Araceli Robledo, except from the West Side Story clip, which is via On the set of New York

4 thoughts on “Harlem & Columbia

  1. Pues sí que te cundió el viaje! Por Harlem pasé sólo en un bus de turistas pero logré ver el… Apollo? Ese club de jazz tan famoso. Otra vez me das envidia de la sana, menos mal que mañana me voy a Hamburgo con mi chico a respirar aires de gran ciudad, de vez en cuando lo necesito! Un saludo.

    P.S: Es la 3ª vez que escribo y mando este comentario, la cibernética está contra mí. Si no funciona ahora creo que desisto.

    • La tecnologia, en mi blog al menos, no esta de tu parte en absoluto!! Ya lo siento… pero esto hace que aprecie tus mensajes aun mas 🙂 SIII el Apollo esta en pleno Harlem, mucha historia tiene.
      Pasalo GENIAL en Hamburgo, aunque he estado en Alemania un par de veces, aun me queda mucho por descubrir. Como Berlin!
      Besitos mil xx

      • Ya estoy de vuelta, ha sido una visita relámpago. Por cierto que viendo las fachadas de los edificios me he acordado de tí, ¡te encantarían!

Leave a Reply

