St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church

One of my most guilty pleasures of late is watching a certain TV show… It’s rather hideous and I know, for a fact, that a few of my brain cells commit suicide whenever I watch an episode. The show is called… Say Yes to the Dress. It’s an absolutely horrible account of how pathetic brides-to-be and those who sell wedding dresses can be. Their utter shallowness, diva aspirations and pretentiousness make each episode’s whirlwind of emotions and godawful gowns just priceless comedy value.

But, in all honesty, I’m normally not that cynical towards weddings and I really do enjoy attending them. Great food, dance, people-watching, unlimited supplies of booze and, obviously, seeing two people whom I respect tying the knot make them a beautiful affair.

A colleague is getting married in May. He is Greek Orthodox so the ceremony will be held in Montreal’s St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church.

My wedding present to him and his new wife? Something handmade and unique: one of my bowls with a drawing of the church where they’ll be wed on side. I hope they like it!

NOTE: The image of the church is via Images Montreal.

Leave a Reply

