Living in a creative valhalla

Hello hello,

First post ever in this blog and, naturally, I am somewhat nervousanxiousexcitedallinone!

Why a creative valhalla, might you ask? Well, I was brought up in a house of artists and creativity has flowed in our blood for generations. Growing up we all inspired each other to unleash the creative within, to paint, draw, sew, knit, crochet, cook, make jewellery, and a long list of etceteras. No matter the city where we lived, our house always seemed to have a pot of creative juices bubbling away. When I finally left home I was never able to re-create that ambience. Sure there is email, phone, and skype, and we still today even talk and get all excited about what it is that we want to make/create/eat, but I have come to realise that the city where you live and the community around you is of utmost importance.

I moved to Toronto in October 2010 and to my surprise, this city, and Canada as a whole, have turned into my creative valhalla. The amazing creative community and wonderful people here, not to mention art supply shops, craft markets and an overwhelming feeling that, whatever you do is unique and should make you proud, have made me feel at home. How long will I stay here? I haven’t the slightest idea, but I hope to document on this blog what it is that inspires me and how my work is affected by it.

Welcome!

2 thoughts on “Living in a creative valhalla

Leave a Reply

